Stepping Outside Of Your Bubble

On January 1st, 2016, I made a promise that I didn’t realize I would end up following up with: I promised myself that I would do things that I wouldn’t normally do.

Sounds simple, right? Wrong.

The following months after I made that seemingly easy commitment, I forced myself to buy, wear or even act on things that I wouldn’t normally do. Let me tell ya…it was a scary experience, in the beginning. My anxiety was constantly through the roof and I was always worrying about what others would think of the change. Come to find out, though, no one even noticed unless it was something extremely uncharacteristic.

So, you’re probably wondering why I made this commitment, yes? If your answer was a no, I’m still going to tell you (shrug).

Like I mentioned in my post Get Real With Me: 7 Insecurities That I Probably Won’t Admit To, I wanted to step outside of my comfort zone and try new things. Being an awkward, introverted, teenage girl who hates leaving her little bubble, trying new things was definitely a little more than a small task.

It started with little things like wearing color or dressing nicer and then moving on to wearing shoes that I had always felt too uncomfortable to wear. Before doing any of that, I wore the same old, same old and I simply could not purchase a pair of open-toed shoes; not sandals with the strap down the middle of the foot– those were, oddly enough, okay in my mind– but shoes that showed my toes in a way that I felt was ugly. However, I was amazed to find that when I did those very things, I received compliments on my outfits and even on my shoes.

It was the encouragement that I received for the little things that spurred me to take even larger steps.

Before I knew it, I was going into stores by myself (that was a big deal for me), talking to strangers without internally panicking and making things awkward for both of us and forming new friendships, simply by putting myself out there. I determined, in my mind, that I wanted to be brave and try out new things because I didn’t want to be stuck in my bubble, for the rest of my life. I mean, what’s the least that could have happened? I fail and have a story to tell or a memory to look back on?

Which I did, not going to lie. Fail, that is.

Failing isn’t as bad as most people make it out to be, though. Failing is a learning opportunity and what you do with that loss is what matters.

I was tired of living in my bubble, fearing failure, change and anything else that made me uncomfortable, so I popped it. I popped my bubble, stepped outside of my comfort zone and dove headfirst into the uncomfortable abyss that is life. One thing is for sure: I have never looked back.

I didn’t want to be the girl who had a panic attack every time she left her house. I didn’t want to be the girl who constantly shaped her life to fit what she felt the standards of society was. I didn’t want to be the girl who constantly missed out on life, solely because she was afraid and uncomfortable. I didn’t want to be the girl who allowed her past to define her future.

I was sick and tired of allowing my insecurities to control my life, so I took the reigns back and steered straight for the cliff that would drop me in a realm of unfamiliarity.

The fall hurt, let me tell you, but I stood up stronger than I could ever imagine and I ran. I ran like I’ve never run before (and not because I don’t exercise) and I reached what I once felt were impossibilities.

You can’t tell me that it’s impossible to change who you are because I was once in your shoes. What did I do about it? I took those shoes off, one by one, and exchanged them for a newer, sturdier pair and my walk in this life has never been better.

You can do it, trust me. It takes courage, bravery and a newfound belief in yourself, but you can do it. I mean, look at me; I would have never worn a certain pair of SHOES, let alone start a blog, for goodness’ sake.

Even if you do not believe in yourself or you don’t have anyone in your life to believe in you, I believe in you. Please, take it for what you will.

Always desire to inspire.

Haylee Dean

Author: stumblingaboutourworld

A Columbus-native who enjoys writing, sharing her passions and making a difference in others' lives.

9 thoughts on “Stepping Outside Of Your Bubble”

  1. I definitely agree with you! Stepping out of my comfort zone has been nerve wracking, but I’ve had some of my best experiences because of it! Sometimes you just have to make yourself do something you’re not comfortable with – like going out in public, only to find that you felt silly for even being uncomfortable about it. I never tried the clothes thing, but that’s actually a great start. And small (:
    I’m glad you made those changes for yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here!! I’ve experienced things that I had only dreamt of, before..like, simple, little things!! And yes, clothing is definitely a small step, but it’s also kind of a big deal, if you really look at it. That confidence you gain truly is something else.

      Thank you! I am too 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment